Thoughts of an Event Reject

“You need me in that meeting! You want me in that meeting! Because I will tell you things you want to know and things that will widen your jaws. From youth to technology, from economy to governance, from innovation to development. I will tear the issues limb by limb, toe nail by toe nail, hair strand by hair strand. You don’t want me walking away from here right now. You don’t want to wake up 1:24, 2:35, and 3:16 a.m. thinking ‘what if’. ‘What if I just allowed the young man in for the meeting?’, ‘What if he did have something to say?’, ‘What if he just sat down for the whole event without saying a word?’, ‘What if he just took the place by storm and wowed all that were at the event?’, ‘What if he just came for the networking and refreshment?’, ‘What if it was all a bluf?’ Tic-Tac-Tuc. Watch me go. I’m gone!”

These where my thoughts as I took a bike ride back to the office, having been rejected entrance for the U.S. Youth Council event. First, I had no photo-ID on me and second my name did not make the list of invited guest even after filling the form sent from organizers of the event.

Interesting I met a colleague there. His story? He came with two friends who he filled the form for and then his own form. He made the cut but these friends were rejects too. So this Nigerian lady that works at the U.S. Consulate came and said – “Sorry guys. No name on the list, no entry. There is nothing we can do about it.” and the above was what I thought I should have replied with.

A peep at the guest list and I walked away with – “Arrrgh! Another time I get NOT to meet with Toyosi Akerele. Thanks Mr. Fate”

Watchu think?

